History of St Augustine's Church . . .

On 10 July 1879 notice was given to the Borough of Nottingham that it was intended to erect a new iron church on Woodborough Road at the corner of Northville street (now Westville Gardens).

The church took 3 months to erect and the Duke of Norfolk contributed £300 which probably covered the whole cost.

This church soon became too small to accommodate its congregation and in September 1920 plans were submitted for a new stone church - the foundation stone was laid on 3 February 1921.

The church was designed by John Sydney Brocklesby. The design is described as Romanesque and is unique in Nottingham. The price was estimated at £10,000 but eventually cost £18,500 and it took 17 years to clear the debt. The church could not be consecrated until the debt was cleared and this was done on 21 September 1940.


To the left of the main entrance (facing the sanctuary) is a window depicting St Winifred. This window was made by Thomas Dexter in memory of his sister. Thomas Dexter incorporated into the stained glass a small open hand with his name across it. This can also be seen in the three windows in the dome over the sanctuary which depict St Augustine, St Gregory and Christ in Majesty.


Above the Sanctuary hangs the rood depicting the crucified Christ. At each corner are symbols of the four evangelists. On the back of the rood is Our Lady with her heart pierced by a sword. Around her are the words VIRGO: MATER: CRUCI: FILII: CONFIXA (the virgin mother pierced by the cross of her son). This rood is very similar to one in Westminster Cathedral.